A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Try to Avoid the Cooties

4.2-4PRECOO1620-Prevent-Cooties

I know this isn’t the first time you’ve heard this, but WHAT A CRAZY WORLD!!

We’ve been in quarantine since mid March, along with the rest of the sane population of the US and many other countries. I’ve only been going to the grocery store twice a month, and the shortages are just so bizarre. Why would there be a shortage of eggs, or milk, or produce when producers are dumping their milk and plowing their vegetable crops under. Just today I saw a photo of potatoes, piles and mounds of potatoes, being left to rot. Now the slaughter houses are closing because the workers are getting sick and spreading the virus. Which brings me to my tip for you. Find your closest local meat market and buy from them. Quality is superior to chain grocery stores meat departments and local butchers have plenty of availability. Yesterday I called in an order to our favorite meat market, and picked it up this morning.  I had ordered 2 whole chickens, which I’ve already poached. Here’s my post about poaching chicken . I don’t like to buy ground beef in the grocery store because of the way it’s handled in the packing plants. We don’t need e coli on top of cooties, so I also got 10# of ground chuck from the butcher. We still have beef and pork in the freezer, but I was running low on ground beef.

It won’t be long and the farmer’s markets will be bursting with beautiful fresh produce. I know lots of folks are planning their own gardens.

I miss my family and can’t wait to see them again, hopefully soon. We did a family brunch via Zoom the other day and that was fun. We have another one planned for Mother’s day. The kids have been doing game nights and trivia nights on Zoom.

I hope we all stay healthy and happy, and stress free would be great too.

 

 

Leave a comment