A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Whole Poached Chicken

chickenRachel Ray taught me how to poach whole chickens.  I have poached chicken breasts many times, but after trying this method, I will always poach the whole chicken.  It’s a big time saver, and the bonus is all of the home made chicken stock you get from doing it this way.
Here is the recipe for Rachel Ray’s poached chickens.

I modified it for our tastes (no lemon) and you should add or subtract ingredients for your own taste.  I love that I’m poaching 2 chickens at once, which yields lots of cooked meat and stock. I have a pot that’s large enough for 2 chickens.
I bought 2 approximately 4 pound chickens.  Using Rachel’s method I ended up with about 8 cups of meat, and 3 1/2 quarts of stock.  I portioned the meat into 2 cups per freezer bag, and froze the stock in quart jars.  I make soup about once a week, so I buy chicken stock every week.  From poaching my chickens I saved about $7.00 or so on purchased chicken stock.
There are so many things you can do with your cooked chicken.
Chicken Salad
Tacos and burritos
Casseroles
Here are 2 of our favorite casseroles using precooked chicken:

king ranch
King Ranch Chicken Casserole

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_20140205_182148
Pasta Cordon Bleu

 

 

 

 
You’ll love the convenience of having packages of cooked chicken and chicken stock in the freezer.  Don’t be put off by the thought of having to get all that chicken off the bones.  It took no time at all.  The chicken skin peeled right off, and the meat was falling off the bones.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

