A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Family Losses

prachettAs we age it becomes inevitable that we begin to lose family and friends of our generation. Unfortunately for this family, we’ve had a cluster of deaths in a very short amount of time.
The first of three losses was my cousin Sonny. Two years younger than me. One of the nicest and most caring people you’ll ever know. His death was shocking, as it was so unexpected. It was his heart. He died on Christmas Eve. His family and friends are missing him.
Then, on January 12 I received a phone call from a stranger, telling me that my brother Tommy had died. Tom was very much estranged from the family and I was listed as his next of kin. How should I feel about this? I hadn’t seen him since he was 21 years old, 44 years ago. He lived a life of emotional pain, and spent time in prison. He died alone, a pauper, from a heart attack followed by a stroke. I’m sorry about his life and death. I feel sad that he made so many bad choices. I hope he’s resting in peace.
Finally (I hope) Lee’s older brother Arlan passed away yesterday, January 15. His death was not unexpected. He had a heart condition and had been on home hospice care for some time. His family was with him when he passed. He was 18 years older than Lee and they weren’t close until later years. Arlan was loved by family and friends.

I still have to care for the cremains of my brother, and we will be going through the funeral and grieving process for Lee’s brother. After that we’ll look forward to brighter days in 2016.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

