A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Pee Wee Sandwiches

I was browsing through my zillions of recipes the other day and found this one which I remember fondly, but haven’t made in years. I have all of the necessary ingredients, so I decided to make it. OK. I didn’t have any crusty rolls so I had to use hamburger buns, but they worked fine.
I don’t have any idea why these sandwiches have such a silly name, and I can only give vague credit to a long ago farm wife who shared her recipe in a farming publication. I’ve google searched ’til I’m blue in the face and I can’t find any mention of this recipe.
Pee Wee sandwiches freeze well, and this makes a big batch, so make them all up and wrap the extras individually and freeze them.
Pee Wee Sandwiches
⦁ 1 lb ground beef
⦁ 1 lb ground sausage (pork or turkey)
⦁ 1 cup grated cheddar cheese
⦁ 1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese
⦁ 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
⦁ 1 cup fresh bread crumbs
⦁ garlic butter
⦁ 16 vienna or French or hard rolls
Brown meat, add onion. Fully cook. Add bread crumbs and simmer for 5 minutes.
Add cheeses and spoon into rolls.
Spread garlic butter lightly on inside and outside of buns. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

20150106_181316_resized

Comments on: "Pee Wee Sandwiches" (1)

  1. Nikki Newberry said:

    One of my favourites!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

