A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Mahikoa Reunion

Sunday was a special day for me. One of my cousins was able to organize a family pot luck at Kailua Beach Park. What a beautiful beach!
I’m not sure how many Mahikoa family members attended, but it was a nice turnout. I’m going to guess 35-40 cousins and aunties and uncles were there.
I can’t even begin to describe the food. This was a pot luck on steroids! My nephew Rex brought his grill and his grilling expertise. He made 3 or 4 different kinds of grilled meat. My fave was the teriyaki pork. So ono!
There was plenty of Zippy’s macaroni salad, which was delicious. My cousin Nani made and brought kalua pork and it was mouth watering good. There were more wonderful dishes, and of course desserts. There was a Chantilly cake, and coco puffs ( a delicious cream puff filled with chocolate and topped with chantilly cream. My first , but hopefully not my last.
I especially enjoyed connecting with family members who I only know through Facebook. My cousin Butch is one of the kids I used to play with at Gramma’s house, but he didn’t remember that. I loved meeting Nani, who has a special place in my heart, and Butch’s wife Iris who along with Nani, helped me on my quest to find my family. She’s such a kind and lovely lady. Annette got the whole thing organized. Everyone was so much fun and I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed every one of them. I hope this isn’t the last time I’ll see Hawaii and all of these amazing people. I definately plan to keep in touch.
After we left the park, Butch and Iris met us at the cemetery to show us where our grandparents are buried.

IMG_0255IMG_0256IMG_0257

Comments on: "Mahikoa Reunion" (2)

  1. Donna Throgmorton said:

    Sunday had to be the ultimate highlight of your trip. What a lovely family. We know you are having the time of your life. We are so glad you and your kids got to make this trip. Sonny & Donna

  2. Joyce LaMarche said:

    I enjoyed the read and thank you for sending. Hope all is well at your house. Do email once in awhile. Joyce

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

