A small, family farm in Wisconsin

October 2012 Newsletter

This has been a busy month on the farm.  Lee is working at getting the corn harvested, and is nearly finished as I write this.  We had some rainy days that held up the harvest but we’re back on track now.  It’s been a month of transition weather wise.  It got cold and the leaves fell quickly from the trees.  Temps have been in the 40’s during the day, with 20’s and 30’s at night.  I had to set up my heated water buckets for the horses after they froze pretty solid one night.

Speaking of horses, if you read this blog regularly, you know that we lost Cody.  You can read the post about him here.
Box elder bugs!  Oh my gosh!  These things have taken over the world!  We used to have problems with lady bugs, but this fall we saw very few of them.  It’s the box elder bugs  crawling everywhere.  Save me from box elder bugs.

I sent a box to Collin in Afghanistan.  It took 16 days to get to him.  I’ll have to keep that in mind when I send his next package.  I want him to get it by Thanksgiving.  He called when it arrived and said the (stale) cookies were all gone already.  I hope no one got sick from eating them.
We spent a lot of time worrying about our family members and friends who were in the path of Hurricane/superstorm Sandy.  All of our people made it through safely, with power outages being the most common problem for them.   We even felt the winds here in Wisconsin.  CNN has been a constant backdrop in our house.

Somehow this page got all messed up.  The photo alignment isn’t right, but I don’t know how to fix it, so….sorry 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

