A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Cody, a Miniature Horse

About 10 years ago Lee and I decided that it was time to downsize our miniature horse activities.  We stopped breeding and showing them, and sold  most of our best horses.  The ones we kept were minis who had special needs.  It’s hard to imagine anyone else giving the kind of care we give to these needy ones.  Of course that’s an arrogant way of thinking and I know that really there are many people in this world who would do a good job with them.  What I ended up with was a small  group of miniature horses with health problems, so I knew that I would be dealing with lots of nursing care and special diets with supplements,and extra vet and farrier visits.  I also knew that my little herd would dwindle.  In the 10 years since we dispersed the main herd, we’ve euthanised 3 of the chronically ill minis, and now this week makes it 4.
Cody was born here.  At the age of 17 he dies here.  He had a chronic, we think genetic, condition involving his trachea.  His dam had the same problem. He also had chronic bouts of laminitis, although not since last winter.  Recently I became aware that he was having other, very serious problems.As he got worse I struggled with making the decision to euthanise him.  This week I realized we couldn’t make him better, he continued to go downhill,and I couldn’t bear to think he might be suffering.  Although we don’t know exactly what was going on with him (we didn’t do a necropsy) we do know that he had something bad.  At the end his blood pressure was sky high, his abdomen was bloated and full of fluid, he was dripping in sweat in the mornings in the last few days.  The vet guesses heart or liver, maybe both.  The last thing I did before the vet got here was to take Cody in the grass so he could graze for the first time in years.  Grass is a no-no for laminitic horses.  He loved it.  He never lost his appetite.
He was my little trick pony who answered questions with a nod or a shake of his head, and gave kisses whenever he was asked for them. He loved kids and they loved him.

Thanks so much Dr. Anne Clary for your compassionate care of my minis for all these years.
Please enjoy this slideshow of pictures of Cody, from his birth, through his show career, to his most recent pictures at the age of 17.  Cody was loved by many and he will be missed so much, especially by me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments on: "Cody, a Miniature Horse" (10)

  1. Donna Throgmorton said:

    I’m so sorry about Cody. I know you had a tough decision and it was a tough day. I remember how cute he was and how smart. My how our animals become children to us. It’s hard to let them go but you did the right thing and he’s resting now. He certainly had a lot of good care and a lot of love while he was living. We’ll keep you in our prayers.

    Love ya,

    Donna

    On Wed, Oct 24, 2012 at 11:53 AM, We Farm Blog

  2. Oh Carol, I am so sorry to hear about Cody. I saw his pictures on facebook and he was adorable! I know he had a wonderful life with you and was blessed to be born where he was loved so much. Sending hugs to you both!

    Rhonda-Lynne

    • Thank you R-L. I know I’m not alone. All of us who have pets in our lives will face losses. I appreciate your kind words.

  3. Joyce LaMarche said:

    You are so right about the kind of care you give your own horses. No one else would come close. Joyce

  4. I am so sorry 😦 Sending you many hugs and prayers

  5. This brought back vivid memories of when we had to put down Callie the Wonder Dog as she lost her fight to cancer. After the sadness comes the happy, happy memories. Love ya, sis, and thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

