A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Spiedies

This isn’t a food/cooking/recipe blog, but from time to time I do enjoy sharing recipes.  Sometimes they are recipes I’ve recently tried for the first time that were a hit, and other times they’re old, tried and true recipes that my family loves.  The recipe I’m sharing today is an oldie that I got from my very dear friend Judy, probably 35 years ago (or more)!  Judy used to live in the Binghamton, NY area, where spiedies are a regional delight.  They have Italian origin but are not widely known in the US.  If you want to know more about spiedies, you can find lots of information on Wikipedia.  The original recipe that I got from Judy calls for beef, but I understand that they can be made with pork, lamb, and chicken as well.

SPIEDIES MARINADE

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

2 tsp parsley flakes

1/2 tsp oregano

2/3 cup oil (olive or canola)

2 cloves garlic

1/3 cup vinegar

juice of 1 lemon or lime

You’ll need sirloin steak, cut in cubes, and 1 large onion.  I cut the onion in large enough chunks to skewer with the meat.

Marinate the meat and onion at least 24 hours, and longer is better.  Skewer, and grill.  Serve with good Italian bread.

Note:  I had fresh mushrooms in the fridge so added the whole mushrooms to my marinade and they were delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

