A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Summer of Family Visits

This has been a bitter sweet summer.  I was able to spend time with all but two of my grandchildren, and the three great grands too.  This won’t happen often, because they’re  all scattered around the US and Scotland.  The two grandgirls we didn’t see live in CT and rarely come to visit.  I was less fortunate regarding spending time with any of my three children.  For now, the only family members on my side still living in Wisconsin are my two married granddaughters and their families.  All of Lee’s siblings stayed in the area so his people are near.  Ironically, Lee and his siblings are not particularly close, so we don’t see them often either.

Last week we had Carys here from Monday night through Friday because her sitter was on vacation.  We enjoyed having her here so much.  She’s a happy little girl and as smart as can be.  She loved helping with chores and especially liked filling the water buckets and  measuring the horse’s grain into their feed pans.  I have to admit that caring for a six year old at my age is a challenge.  She wore me out.  I will be happy to do it again any time, but maybe not for so many days 🙂

Ken and the kids will be leaving for Scotland tomorrow, and it was hard to say good bye to them last night.  Now that the whole family will be there together, making their lives there, I do wonder when I’ll see them again.  I shouldn’t dwell on it, but I do love to fret.

Last night Paige and Lucas invited us over for dinner and to see Ken and the kids before they leave.  The girls made a cute cake (a Scottish hill) and Paige made lasagna.  I brought a very tasty chopped salad, and I’m going to post the recipe here, after the pictures.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

CAPE COD CHOPPED SALAD

  • 6 slices bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 8 oz lettuce like baby greens, arugula, butter, etc.
  • 1 large Granny Smith apple, small dice
  • 1/2 cup  chopped walnuts
  • 6 oz. blue cheese

For the Dressing:

  • 2 Tbls apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbls balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbls freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 2 1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 2 Tbls maple syrup
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2/3 cup good olive oil

Whisk or shake dressing ingredients and refrigerate.

Combine salad ingredients.

Just before serving toss with dressing.

Comments on: "Summer of Family Visits" (1)

  1. You are right, bitter sweet. So glad you got to enjoy most of your family. Sorry to hear that some are moving so far away though. Sending hugs your way and I am going to try that salad some day soon!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

