A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Do you Eat Rare Pork?

There are new recommendations for cooking pork.  We’re being told that pork cooked to 145 degrees, or medium rare, (160 degrees for ground pork) is safe to eat.  Do whatever you want with that information.  Personally, I can’t make myself eat undercooked pork.  I’m 64 years old, and it’s been ingrained in me for most of my life that eating rare pork will give you trichinosis.  Trichina worms are not good to eat.  Apparently, nowadays, most pork in the US is free of trichinosis because they’re no longer fed slop and scraps.  They eat a balanced diet of  soybeans and other grains.   Notice that I did say “most” US pork is trichina free.  From my reading I learned that there are some hogs being fed scraps from grocery stores and restaurants, and I learned that “free range” hogs may be more susceptible to trichina.

We’re hog producers.  We know what’s being fed to our animals.  We don’t give them growth hormones or antibiotics.  I still want my  pork chops well done.  I’ll leave the medium rare chops for those of you who weren’t programmed to refuse them. I’m fine with rare beef though 🙂

Here are two recipes for pork chops.  I’ve used them for decades, and they’re tried and true family favorites.  They’re fall off the bone well done.

 

 

 

 

PORK CHOPS SPECIAL

5 pork chops
5 medium potatoes
1 can cream of mushroom soup, low fat
1/2 cup 1% low-fat milk
2 tablespoons olive oil

Brown pork chops in olive oil.  Remove from pan. Add soup and milk to pan and heat through,

scraping up brown bits and stirring well.
Slice potatoes and arrange in sprayed 8×12 baking pan.  Place chops evenly over potatoes.

Pour soup mixture over all.
Bake at 325 for 1  1/2 hours.  Serves 5
********************************************************************************

 

 

PORK CHOPS ‘N STUFFING

4 pork chops
3 cups soft bread cubes
2 Tbls chopped onion
1/4 cup melted butter
1/4 cup water
1/2 tsp poultry seasoning, or to taste
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 cup water
Brown the chops on both sides; place in shallow baking dish.  Lightly mix together the bread

cubes,onion, butter, 1/4 cup water, and poultry seasoning.  Place a mound of stuffing on top of

each chop.  Blend soup and 1/2 cup water; pour over chops and stuffing in baking dish.  Bake

in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour.
Serves 4

 

Comments on: "Do you Eat Rare Pork?" (2)

  1. For those of you, who like me, don’t care for mushrooms or mushroom soup, Cream of Onion is delicious as a substitute. 🙂

  2. Medium rare pork–no thank you. I’m with you Carol. I love pork, but I want mine to be thoroughly cooked.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

