A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Meatball Extravaganza

If you found 2 pound bags of frozen Rosina’s Homestyle Meatballs on sale, what would you do with them?  Here’s my answer….

Cooking dinner is a problem for me.  I can’t just walk in the house after chores and put a meal on the table unless I’ve planned ahead, or we eat sandwiches.  When I cook meals, I prepare them early in the day and I most always make enough to freeze another meal.

This morning I tackled the meatballs, turning them into at least 4 meals for the 2 of us.  I found 2 recipes on Kraft foods, whose website I use a lot.  I like that the recipes use ingredients (sometimes convenience foods) I usually have on hand.  If you don’t like to use packaged convenience foods you can make your own 🙂

The first recipe I made was Layered Meatball Bake.  The picture here is from the Kraft website, and I have to say that if you follow the recipe, you won’t have peas scattered on the top.  This made a 9×13 pan full and will give us 2 or maybe 3 meals.  The only change I made to this one was to layer some of the grated cheese over the meatballs, and I put the remainder on top.  I used the “light” directions for the stuffing mix, low fat condensed soup, and 2% cheese.

 

 

 

The second recipe I made is this Hearty Meatball and Spinach Soup.  Again from the Kraft site.  The picture is mine, taken of the soup I made this morning.  It’s good.  It’s very similar to Italian Wedding Soup, but no pasta here, and the meatballs I used are bigger than the tiny ones used in Italian Wedding Soup.  The recipe on Kraft has you making your own meatballs but I needed to use the frozen ones.  Lee just came in for lunch, and he smells the soup and wants it for lunch.

OK, fine.

 

Comments on: "Meatball Extravaganza" (2)

  1. What do you think we could use instead of peas? My kids hate peas (even though I love them)! Do you think green beans would work?

    Thanks for all the great recipes via your blog. Speaking of great recipes, maybe you could mail me some apple pie squares some day? Love you!!!

  2. Sure, sub with green beans if that’s what they like. I can’t mail the apple pie squares, but I promise to make you some if you’ll come get them! Love you too.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

