A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Cheese Soups

On New Year’s Eve Lee and I enjoyed Wisconsin Beer and Cheese Soup for dinner.  I mentioned it to Mike and he asked me to send him some :).  I told him I’d give him the recipe, so I’m posting it here for him and anyone else who likes rich, delicious hot soup.   It’s popular in restaurants here in Wisconsin and this particular recipe is my own version of  the cheesy delight.

WISCONSIN BEER AND CHEESE SOUP (12 servings)

  • 1/2 pound butter
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 quart milk
  • 1 quart chicken stock
  • 1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • Tabasco to taste
  • 12 ounces beer (Amber is good)
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • pepper to taste
  • salt to taste
  • 1 pound shredded medium cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 pound shredded swiss cheese

In saute’ pan melt butter and add flour. Whisk and cook over low heat for about 10 minutes to cook the rawness out of the flour.  Don’t brown it.  Set aside.  This is your roux.

In soup pot heat the milk and stock nearly to boiling but do not boil it.  Lower the heat and add tabasco, worcestershire, and beer.  Add cream and seasonings.  Continue to heat and whisk but do not let it boil.  Slowly whisk in the roux and continue to heat and whisk until thickened.  Gradually and slowly add shredded cheeses, using low heat.  Let each addition melt completely before adding more.  If your soup gets too hot the cheese will separate and your soup will be ruined.

Garnish with any of the following:  croutons, green onions, crisp bacon, parsley, or whatever you like.

There’s another cheese soup that is a big family favorite.  I worked for years at our local hospital and this soup was served in the cafeteria there.  I was happy to find the recipe in the book that came with one of my kitchen appliances back in the ’80’s.  I’ve been using this recipe ever since.  It’s also lots easier and less “putzy” than the beer and cheese recipe.

CANADIAN CHEESE SOUP (4-6 servings)

 

 

 

 

 

  • 2 medium carrots, cut in 1″ pieces
  • 2 stalks celery, cut in 1″ pieces
  • 1 small onion, quartered
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 1/2 cups cheddar cheese cubes

Finely chop carrots, celery and onion in food processor.  Put into large sauce pan with stock and cook until vegetables are tender.  Combine flour, milk, and cheese in food processor and process until smooth.  Add slowly to veg mixture in pan, whisking continuously.  Cook until thick.

Comments on: "Cheese Soups" (2)

  1. Teri and I started our New Year’s diets yesterday. This post is unfair.

  2. Yum, those cheese soups sound wonderful!! I’m going to try them one day soon. I enjoyed your cold post! I think we had you beat for a while though, my eyes actually froze shut walking back from feeding the misfits. I had to put my hand warmer on them to unfreeze them. Couldn’t see a thing. lol.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

