A small, family farm in Wisconsin

I went grocery shopping yesterday.  I won’t name the store to protect the guilty.  For some reason, in the middle of a busy Friday, they decide to restock shelves, and the aisles are full of boxes.  Now, I don’t normally keep my eyes on the floor while I’m shopping.  I’m scanning the shelves, often high above my eye level because I’m short.  So, yesterday, I was in the cookie aisle, trying to decide which of Lee’s favorite cardboard tasting cheap cookies to purchase.  I grabbed a package of cookies from one of the higher shelves, turned around, and tripped over a case of cookies on the floor.  I don’t know what kind of cookies they were, but I’m going to assume they were Pecan Sandies, because those darn things have been causing trouble for me my entire life.  Love ’em.  I took a serious digger, arse over teakettle, sprawled in the cookie aisle.  I hurt myself.  I landed on my left knee…hard!  Fortunately (or unfortunately) no one saw this agonizing, slow motion, face plant.  I hauled my butt up and tried to move.  Yep, it was painful, but I was able to go forward.  I had completely lost the will to shop so I finished as quickly as I could and checked out.  By the time I got to the car my knee had a golf ball sized lump that was distinguishable through my jeans.  I was developing a softball sized lumpy bruise on my right leg.  I decided to head for home, rather than the ER, and took a wait and see approach.  I spent my evening with ice packs and ibuprofen.  Today I’m on the mend.  Tender and a little stiff, but nothing is broken and I’ll live.

Before you ask….Lee spoke to the store owner about my accident and he said they’d take care of any medical bills.   If you own a grocery store, I recommend you keep the aisles clear 🙂

Comments on: "Attack of the Killer Cookies" (3)

  1. Windy Acres Miniature Horses said:

    Holy cow! Yeah they better pay for the medical bills. Idiots. Glad nobody saw you take a digger. Hope the knee heals up fast. 🙂
    Marsha

  2. Dear Grace,

    I hope you are better each day….. you don’t have to tell me about knees hurting, I know. And it raises problems with the dancing too. I’m thinking of you !!!

  3. Ouch!

    Those cookies can be dangerous!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

