A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Chicken for Dinner

It’s been a while since I posted a recipe,  so I’m sharing one that’s tasty, simple, quick to prepare, and healthy.

I subscribed to a daily email from Kraft Foods, which sends me a dinner suggestion and recipe every day.  I’ve made a few of them and haven’t made a failure yet.  This Saucy Mexican Chicken is delicious. A nice bonus is that any leftovers can be sliced, warmed and wrapped  in flour tortillas for another go-round.  The black beans are a healthy component adding lots of fiber to the dish.

This makes 4 servings and takes about 35 minutes to make.

SAUCY MEXICAN CHICKEN

  • 1 lb (4 small) boneless skinless chicken breasts or 8 thighs
  • 1 16 oz jar Taco Bell Home Originals Thick N’ Chunky Salsa*
  • 1 can (15 oz) black beans
  • 1 cup Kraft 2% milk Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Brown the chicken in a non-stick skillet, 4 minutes each side.  Add salsa and beans. Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat to simmer, about 5 minutes or until chicken is done (165 degreesF).  Top with cheese, remove from heat, and let stand, covered, until cheese is melted.

* I’m not fond of tomatoes so I don’t like the tomato chunks.  I pureed the salsa which gave me a salsa flavored tomato puree and it worked nicely.

*I copied the recipe using the recommended Kraft products.  Use whatever brands you like.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

