A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Shamrock’s Story

Shamrock, young and strong.

Shamrock came to live on our farm in 1993, when she was 5 years old.  At her side was her 4 month old son, Irish.  He still lives here, and he looks just like his dam.

When Shammy first came here she was stand-offish with the other horses.  Not timid or afraid.  She preferred to be left alone.  She was more open to relationships with humans and enjoyed any time she spent with people.  If I went into the paddock with a grooming brush in my hand Shamrock was the first in line waiting to be brushed.  She would ignore food if she thought there was a chance a human was going to love on her.  She was incredibly tolerant of kids.  Little girls love to play “My Pretty Pony” and will brush, braid, and comb the hair right off a horse if given the time and opportunity.  Shamrock was our go-to-gal when it was time to play beauty shop.

This is one of my favorite pictures.  Alora had been playing with and grooming Rosie, who was Shamrock’s last foal. Note the stylish, curly forelock. Shamrock was nuzzling Alora, maybe begging for some attention, but it looks to me like she’s whispering in Alora’s ear.

Shammy was always dependable around children and she loved them.

Another favorite picture is the one of Shamrock wearing a birthday hat.  It was my birthday, and when I went out for morning chores, my horses were all wearing birthday hats!  A birthday surprise from Lee 🙂

Happy Birthday!

Several years ago Shamrock foundered, had her first attack of laminitis.  Over the following years she did pretty well, with an occasional bout but they were always fairly minor and easy to resolve.  We kept her on a strict diet and she seemed to be coping.  Last February she had a severe attack and we just couldn’t get her over it.  We tried everything, and then some, but nothing helped her. Toward the end she was down a lot and I knew it was time to put her out of her misery.  On September 7th the vet came and helped her to leave this earth.  Lee and I and our very compassionate vet were with her as she passed.  I know that she will rest in peace.

I have a couple more pictures that I want to share, of a beautiful little mare.

Shamrock March 17, 1988-September 7, 2010.

Beautiful Shamrock age 15

Shamrock age 22

Comments on: "Shamrock’s Story" (7)

  1. Dang, I’m so sorry about your loss. Animals have ALWAYS been a part of my family, and when they die it makes my heart ache. God Bless! Karen

  2. Tanya Hoffmann said:

    That is a beautiful story for a beautiful horse. I know you miss her terribly. You will always have your wonderful memories. I am so sorry for your loss. Toni

  3. My heart goes out to you Carol on the loss of your beloved Shamrock. She is in a better place now and best of all, she is without pain and her suffering has ended. And I know those words aren’t much comfort to you when you heart is broken. Keep all the good times in your mind as you go thru these hard days and feel all the love she gave to you thru her years. If you need to talk, I’m a good listener.
    Hugs to you on this sad day,
    Love,
    Joyce & Tom
    Little Folks Farm

  4. You can hear the love in your words. So sorry for your loss, Carol.

    kur

  5. Windy Acres Miniature Horses said:

    So sorry Carol, what a beautiful story, your love shows thru. Have peace knowing she is not in pain anymore.
    Hugs,
    Marsha & Savannah

  6. Shamrock was a beautiful girl who lived a wonderful life with you Carol. I am so sorry about her passing. Sending big hugs your way!!

  7. Carol, that is a beautiful story of a beautiful little mare. My heart breaks for you as I know how hard it is to lose a dear pet. Big hugs.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

