A small, family farm in Wisconsin

I called the vet’s office today, to make an appointment to have Shamrock euthanized.  This little mare is 22 years old, and has been struggling with hoof pain since the middle of last winter.  I’ve done everything I know how to do.  Tried every suggestion from vet, farrier, and fellow horse owners.  Nothing has helped her and I see signs now of her giving up.  She’s been so willing to do whatever I’ve asked of her, and she has put up with all  of the treatments, meds, and supplements I’ve bombarded her with.  Now she’s telling me she’s had it.  She’s not eating or drinking with gusto.  She’s lying down most of the time.  She has no interest in leaving her stall to go outside.  I’m waiting for the vet to call me back with a day and time.  This decision has been brutal for me, but I need to face it with courage. I think it’s the right time for Shammy.  Am I sure?  No.

Comments on: "You’ll Know When it’s Time" (8)

  1. Windy Acres Miniature Horses said:

    I am so sorry Carol. I know you love all your horses very much. And you ahve done more than a lot of people would have done for her.
    Hugs!
    Marsha

  2. I know this is a tough decision for you and I’m sorry you’re having to make it. Our animals are our kids and a huge part of our families but once you have done all you can do, you can rest assured that you did your best and Shamrock has done all he can do and he’s ready to be relieved of his pain and suffering. We’ve been through the same thing and found comfort when our pet was no longer in pain and you know in your heart it is time for that difficult decision. We’ll be thinking of you in the days to come.
    LOL,
    Donna & Sonny

  3. I am sorry you had to make this decision about Shamrock. You are a great horse mom! (And people mom too!)

  4. I’m sorry Mom. It’s a tough decision to have to make, but you’ll know in your heart that the time is right. I know Shamrock was a favorite, and will be missed.

    Love you lots,

    Kay

  5. The vet will be here Tuesday.

  6. I am sooo sorry to hear this Carol. I have went thru it more than once and it sure is a heartbreaker!! I feel for you. Big hugs!!!

  7. Oh no! This is so sad. My heart goes out to you. Never is it easy to have one of our lovely pets put down as they are family.
    I will keep Shamrock and you in my prayers.
    Joyce M

  8. You are a great writer. I cried while reading your story Shamrock. It is very sad when one of our beloved miniature horses dies.

    I can see by the thoughts you are expressing about lossing her that Shamrock lived a loved-filled and a long life. She was very lucky, indeed. Sammy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

