A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Kentucky or Bust!

It isn’t easy for Lee and I to get away from the farm together.  It’s a major production.  We start planning months in advance, lining up our helpers and caretakers, making sure they put us on their calendars.

I have family in northern KY, people we’ve been wanting to visit for quite a while now.  I have fond memories of summers in Kentucky when I was a child.   My family members there probably remember our visits less fondly because I had terrible asthma attacks caused by all the farm animals, every time we visited.  Obviously I outgrew the asthma, at least the worst of it, because here I am, living on a farm.

My cousin Ron and his SO, Nita, are driving to our place from Michigan and they’ll be making the pilgrimage to Kentucky with us.  They’ll get here a couple of days in advance.  More of the family (at least 1 of my brothers) will meet us in Kentucky for a very short family gathering.  This is going to be fun!

My life for the next few days will be spent making and checking lists, and executing the work on my own personal TO-DO list.  We’re only going to be gone for 4 days, so you’d think most of these lists aren’t really necessary, but let me tell you, bad things will happen without these lists.

We have 3 people doing animal care for us.  One will be the sheep and hog caretaker.  One will be the horse caretaker.  the 3rd person is my grandson who will be taking care of Charlie and house sitting.  That’s 3 lists right there!

Then we have the grocery list and the food list (for the trip). The packing list, which for me is a list of what I need to pack for myself and for Lee.  Lee doesn’t pack.  The gift list  will be the items we Wisconsinites always bring to family and friends when we visit.  Mostly cheese curds 🙂

Of course all the lists have to be printed, along with the Mapquest map and driving directions.

We’re busy getting organized for our chore helpers.  It’s been so oppressively hot and humid with temps in the 90’s and dew points in the 70’s.  We’re just getting as much done as we need to, hoping for a break in the weather so we can work longer and harder.

We’re busy, but it’s a good busy in anticipation of a good time with family.  I’ll let you know how it went when we get back.

Comments on: "Kentucky or Bust!" (2)

  1. Windy Acres Miniature Horses said:

    Have a good trip!

  2. Lists are very important! Sometimes we need lists of our lists, just in case.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

