A small, family farm in Wisconsin

Milestones

Most of the milestones of my life have gone by unnoticed or purposely ignored.  Sweet Sixteen,  becoming “legal”, decade birthdays have meant little to me (and apparently, to my family, hehe). 

Today I hit a milestone that I truly had no idea would even BE a milestone to me.  Who would have thought, a few years ago, that I would have cared about Social Security?

ss2Today I received my first Social Security payment.  It isn’t much.  Certainly isn’t enough to live on.  Why does it feel like such a momentous occasion?  Maybe it just confirms that I paid my dues.  Maybe it confirms that I actually exist and I’m getting money for it.  It’s only important to me, a personal milestone that no one else will even notice.

I hope to reach a few more milestones in this life.  This one tickled me, but I don’t know why.

Comments on: "Milestones" (1)

  1. Awww, I care about your milestones (or mileboulders or milepebbles, as they might be)! I love the blog, it is very interesting. Great job. Thanks for sharing it with all of us.

    ~Nikki

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

